Academic Writing: Fishery in ‘Free Spaces’

Edits provided for the abstract to this academic article.

Edits provided for the abstract to this academic article.

For this project, the client required a final read-through of their academic article on fishery in ‘free spaces’ of northern Russia. The client wanted to ensure that the article was correctly formatted, contained no errors and also conformed to standard English usage–English being their second language. The project was immensely fun, and in providing edits I learned a great deal about a culture that I knew very little about. Through my editing process, I provided the client with valuable feedback about where their article might be vague or unclear, while also providing the standard edits to grammar, syntax and punctuation. Since the client was under a tight deadline to submit the article, I turned around their article in less than 24 hours. Although, I had to work quickly, I left no comma unscrutinized and provided the client with an edit that they were immensely satisfied with: “Great work. Very good editor.”

